Leupold Reticles

truck driver

Ammo Smith
Mar 11, 2013
I was looking at the different reticules they offer and saw what they call a prioritized Leupold dot. Which has tapered cross hairs with the dot in the center.
Was wondering if any one has used this in a hunting plat form and how they worked for low light or how easy it was to pick up when tracking a moving target?

TD I have been wondering the exact same thing. I have no experience with this kind of scope but would like to try one out someday to see how it works for me.

I read some where that Leupold and Burris used some of the same reticules and have 2 Burris pistol scopes with 1x with etched dots in them I use for Bullseye competition, if they're the same they might work out for hunting.

I have a "custom shop" target dot in a VX-II. Its 2-7with a dot that covers a 2 inches at 4x, at 100yds. I was looking to get the affect of Dads k-4 Weaver. I did not. The actual cross hairs are so thin the dot "floats" in space much of the day. Dawn and dusk there is just a dot. I like it - but a low light optic is not where it is at its best. It is quick and a great simple range finder. If the dot is bigger that the deers nose at 4x he's probably over 100 yards. Quick, easy, deadly at close range (100yds or less) on my slug gun. I was afraid with the luey dot I would pick the wrong "point of aim" for those quick shots....don't know.... This year both shots a took were well over 100yds. As a range finder I think it works. The Luey dot is smaller than mine. You should be able to find what it subtends at 100 yds. I forget the exact amount. Contact Leupold, I told them what I wanted and they had options beyond those pictured and they may be able to give some opinions passed on by other shooters. CL

I had a dot reticle scope and it's main use was punching holes in paper on well lit ranges...and it excels at that.