OAL Question

racerx36

Beginner
Sep 28, 2006
Hi all, I'm new to reloading and I have a question reguarding OAL. I'm loading 165 BTips for my .30-06 and 120 BTips for my 7mm-08. I checked for proper bullet seating depth per page 42 - 43 of the Nosler Manual fifth edition. With the bullet set at about .050 longer than SAAMI max. I didn't see any marks from the rifling in either rifle. Based on this, I seated the .30-06 ammo at 3.335 OAL and the 7mm-08 ammo at 2.795 OAL. These dimensions are .005 less than SAAMI max. and function through the magazines. What do you think? With their streamlined shape, is it normal for BTips to not touch the rifling? Do you typically set the bullet longer than I did when you check for contact with the rifling? Thanks.

I personally like to create a "dummy" of new cartridge/bullet combinations. I use the rifle itself, if a bolt gun, to do this. Just seat a bullet down just enough in an empty, unprimed case to hold it straight, then get a sharpie marker and color all over the copper of the bullet jacket. Then place the round in your bolt gun, and chamber it, slowly. You will feel a lot of resistance. When you finally close the bolt, then open it back, and hopefully the bullet will come out in the case. If it does, then measure the OAL and that is the full freebore of the chamber with this particular combination. If it sticks in the rifling, get a cleaning rod, put a cotton ball or some other padding on the tip, and gently rap the bullet out of the bore. Take a look at it, and you will see the sharpie marker section is discolored where the bullet went into the case. Re-seat the bullet in the empty case up to that line, and then measure. If you have a comparator you only need to do this once, as you can use that measurement across the board, by the way.