Please help me with Scope Rings & Base

Rmitch223

Beginner
Nov 9, 2012
I'm getting ready to purchase a Vortex Viper PST 6-24x50 SFP Scope.

Its going on my Rem. 700 SPS Varmint in .243

I was thinking about going with Badger rings and base, but I'm now looking at TPS Rings and Base to save some cash.

Are TPS rings and bases quality products?

Which height TPS rings should I go with? I was thinking I would be really close using the medium rings which measure 1.075".
Should I be good to go with those rings with a 50mm objective on my rifle?

I usually only shoot from 100-600 yards so should I go with a 20MOA base or 0MOA base?

Thank you,

Ryan

Ryan, I have heard nothing but great things about the TPS rings and bases. They look well machined and made from quality parts. I would imagine OT3 will be around to tell you about his sets. He has ran them on a 340 WBY and a bunch of other rifles with good results I think.

As to the height, that is tough, I have no real experience with that part. I would probably get the 20 MOA base though. You never know if your going to wanna shoot further. Might as well have it from the get go.

Can't say as I had those rings, but have to take the word of those of knowledge on such.
However, if were me, I would go with an EGW 20 moa base with Burris Signature Zee's.
Ring height is a function but also personal preference. With the BSZ's I prefer the High rings, as they seem a tad lower than most to me, yet just abit higher than mediums. Mediums may not, or may interfer with the objective 50 mm size ( pending contour of course), but also can make it difficult for installing flip-up covers.
That's not saying they are better,,,,I just like them a lot.

Rmitch223":39ho0bf8 said:
TPS offers aluminum rings and steel rings. which should I go with ?

I would be good with the aluminium alloy rings on all but the worst recoiling rifles. No need to put the extra weight of steel on there if you don't need it.