Pulled Bullets and Neck Tension

hunter24605

Handloader
Apr 30, 2016
I had a bunch of rounds worked up for my old pet load and when I found a new pet load I decided to take down some of the old loads and reload with the new charge. After taking them down I sized the cases and re-seated the bullets that I pulled. Now I have very little neck tension. A gentle push with my finger tip and they will fall into the case. At first I thought it may be my die, so I ordered and installed a new decapper/expander pin, but same results. The bullets are accubonds and Im wondering if they maybe had some material shaved off when they were pulled using an impact type puller. These are 7mm and when I mic them at the seating depth I'm getting around .281-.282. I don't crimp, so that can't be the cause of them being smaller...Thanks, I'm still learning.

That is weird, has the brass ever been neck turned? I would measure the ID of a sized case mouth and measure the OD of the bullet and see what the measurements are.

No, never been turned. New brass. I should mention that before I pulled them, the neck tension was good. Ok I'll measure some and report back.

Measured resized. neck ID's run .279 to .280..Just for giggles I seated a few .015 shorter than before and the tension is good again. My dies are Lee, but are not the ones with the built in crimp.

The decapping pins/expander only straighten the necks, the die does all the resizing. I remove all of mine. Keeps the brass life, and I don't crimp any brass unless it's going into a semi auto.

Are the bullets shaved down from pulling them? Did you make sure to resize the pulled brass again after you pulled all the bullets? You mentioned you did,but did you remove the decapping pin? If not, did you remove live primers when you were resizing the brass?

My wife thinks I only have 3 guns

waveslayer":2mz30994 said: