Range finder shopping....

shoots_5

Handloader
May 15, 2009
I'm looking to upgrade my range finder in the next few months and started shopping around. I found a good deal on a brand that I have no experience with and thought someone on here might have some info.

It's a Newcon LRM 1500 yard range finder. Quite a bit cheaper than some of the more common brands I've seen, just wondering if it's junk or if it's legit. Looks like they make some really nice high end one's....so maybe that trickles down to the lower end of the spectrum? Anyway and thoughts, experiences and suggestions are welcome.

Thanks,

Tim

I had the newcon 1500. It was only marginally better than the bushnells and such. I got tired of it and then I bought the Swaro.

So if I can get the Newcon for $150 less than the Bushnell it would be a good buy POP? I really only need it to range out to 800-1000 yards.

Get the Swaro Laser Guide and don't look back!
It will be the last LRF you have to buy. :wink:

JD338

shoots_5":174tvtz5 said:
So if I can get the Newcon for $150 less than the Bushnell it would be a good buy POP? I really only need it to range out to 800-1000 yards.

Most rangefinders that are rated @ 1,000 yds would be lucky to range a game animal at half that distance on a sunny day. Don't be fooled by ratings.

I have a Bushnell 1,000 and like it for a variety of reasons but it has its limitations. I have a Swaro too. For 600yds+ (under field conditions) the Swaro is vastly better. For shorter distances I prefer the Bushnell.

JD338":1h1fydwb said:
Get the Swaro Laser Guide and don't look back!
It will be the last LRF you have to buy. :wink:

JD338

I totally agree.

If you're committed to the Newcon make sure you play with it first and form an opinion.

Thanks for the replies!