Switching Bullets

tim629

Handloader
Apr 15, 2013
Hopefully this helps others too, I hate constantly asking the newbie questions from you guys:

How many of you will start to develop a load with 1 brand of non-premium bullet, then tweak that load into your premium bullets?

I know the manufacturers will say "don't deviate from published data" and I'm new to reloading so I want to be careful about it, but is it safe to look in my 3 manuals (hornady, speer, nosler) choose a similar bullet construction (200 grain tipped boat-tail) then compare starting loads with similar powders across the 3 books to determine a starting point for the bullet/powder combo that isn't listed in a particular manual

IMR4320 is listed in Nosler & Speer for 338-06 in the 200 grain, but not in hornady's 338-06 200 grain, but Reloader 15 is listed in all 3. in the Nosler & Speer manuals RL-15 is 1.5grains more than IMR 4320 at the same velocities. So is it acceptable to take a 200 grain hornady use a load of IMR 4320 at 1.5grains under their RL-15 start load and work up from there?

Next it's my understanding that for the ackley's you start with a load closer to Max on a published load, if my previous thoughts are acceptable would you start with a grain or 2 below max on an unpublished load just to be safe

I'd be awful careful about that sort of extrapolation until you have a lot of experience handloading, and understand how your rifles behave, as well as how various powders behave in a variety of situations.