using fire formed brass

sxsmike

Beginner
Jun 28, 2008
I am just getting started in reloading. I have heard that using fire formed brass in the same gun that it was formed in will provide better accuracy. Also if used in the same gun there in no need for resizing. The gun is a weatherby accumark in 300 cal.

You'll have to resize your brass every time you load it. Fire-formed brass has two meanings. On the one hand, it means taking a piece of factory brass, sizing it somewhat, and then forming (through firing it) it in a wildcat chamber (like making a 7-30Waters from 30-30WCF, or making an Ackley Improved). In your case, though, you're thinking of brass that is fire-formed to the chamber of your rifle. You should size it appropriately, either through partial full-length resizing, or neck sizing. It will have to be sized every time, though. The idea is to not move the shoulder back too far, to limit case stretch in the case head area, which can eventually lead to case head separation, or failure. There are threads here on partial full length resizing, if you do a search. A good loading manual will also tell you everything you need to know to start out properly loading ammunition.

In theory brass fired in your rifle and then neck sized or PFL sized will be more accurate but that is not written in stone. Only your rifle can tell you for sure.Rick.

rick smith":2aya96x8 said:
In theory brass fired in your rifle and then neck sized or PFL sized will be more accurate but that is not written in stone. Only your rifle can tell you for sure.Rick.

+1 to what Rick said.

JD338