Which Handgun

hardpan

Handloader
Apr 16, 2007
All, I own a target .22 and a 44 mag revolver. I am looking to get a .40 in either glock or Sig. So, at the risk of starting a range war, what do you all prefer and why? I lean very slightly towards the glock based on warranty and it is around $50-100 less around here.

THis gun is for defense... My defense.

thanks in advance.,
Hardpan.

I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I would choose the GLOCK. Yes I know they are BUTT UGLY, but they work.

I carry a handgun every day, either concealed or in plain view, and have for many, many years. An even more important consideration than the individual handgun is the HOLSTER. If you handgun is to be carried concealed the proper holster is a must. By proper holster I mean one that not only conceals the handgun properly, but also one that is COMFORTABLE. If you choosen holster is not comfortable and does not conceal the handgun as desired then you won't carry it (ie won't have it if and when you need it).

The main reason I recommend the GLOCK is simplicity. These guns are so simple anyone can become proficient with them. In my experience they are also quite simple to field strip and maintain.

Back in 2000 I attended the Firearms Course at the South Dakota Law Enforcement Training Center in Pierre South Dakota. In the group I was in (like 36 Officers) there were about 8 or 9 Officers NOT carrying a GLOCK. Each Officer shot roughly 1000 rounds of ammo over the course of the week and of all the Officers shooting GLOCKS I never saw a single malfunction or stoppage. The guns were cleaned once a day and the condistions were Hot & Dusty on the South Dakota Prairie.