Zeiss Terra vs Zeiss Conquest

bob_dobalina

Handloader
Oct 6, 2009
Anyone have a chance to look through the Zeiss Terra yet? They seem to be about the same price as the cheapest conquest, you can get either for about $400. Which would you choose of the two? I have looked through the Conquest and was very impressed.

I havnt looked at a Terra, but I have three Conquests and think they are superb scopes. They are very clear to my eyes. Im no scope expert, but I dont think you can do wrong with a Zeiss. If you can find a Conquest 3-9 under $400, I would scoop it up.

My dad has a brand new Conquest 3x9 for 380.00 if your interested. I can give you his info if you are.

I have a few of the conquest 3-9 scopes , for the money they are a very good buy . they work well in low light ,the glass is good , the clicks are solid , and a nice compact size . I have not had a look at the Terra's yet . Doug at camera land has some Terra scope demos with pretty good pricing . Jim

http://www.cameralandny.com/demos-zeiss.html

I looked through a Terra 3-9 today and it looked as nice as my Conquest 3-9. Very similar feel to it, and the only discernable difference I could find was the elevation and windage knobs. I wouldnt hesitate to pick one up.

Call me a cynic but the true test happens over time.

Conquest = proven
Terra = jury is still out

These babies need to travel on commercial air; need to fall from a tree stand; need to freeze, then warm up, then fall from a tree stand. Need to bounce around on an ATV and/or in a pick-up, Jeep or the like.

Then and only then will we know the true quality of the Terra. I too think they are a pleasure to look through but I’m waiting on this one. There’s a reason why Zeiss makes profit off a lower priced scope and if it’s not the glass…what is it (and I know the quantity pitch as well)?