Annealing brass

desertcj

Handloader
Sep 27, 2010
I've been reloading for quite a few years and I never bothered with annealing. I never saw the need, but I decided to try it out. I tried some 5.56 LC brass and I just used a propane torch with a deep well socket on a 1/4" extension chucked in a 1/2" drill. I did 6 seconds with the flame on the neck/shoulder junction and then dropped the brass in a tray of water. That was enough to turn the necks dull red. I noticed that there's a point where the flame coming off the brass changes from blue and gets some orange in it. I'm thinking that is the point to stop and it was at about 4 or 5 seconds in this case. I guess the water isn't necessary either and I'll probably try no water next time. Who anneals their brass and how do you do it?

I tried some 5.56 not long ago just like you did. It did not turn out very well, the necks got too soft and would not provide nearly enough tension.

How did yours turn out?

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

LOL. I'm the caveman of annealing, I use a candle. When the brass gets too hot to hold, it's done. :)

Actually works really well... Slow, hurts, but all that just reminds me of the Marine Corps, so all is well.

:wink:

Guy I'm with you on this 1. I use a torch. Burnt my fingers a couple times. LOL

I do the torch Mapp gas method also. I dim the lights so I can better watch the color on the case neck. When I start seeing the end of the neck turning a hue of red I stop. Usually takes a count of 3-5 ( roughly seconds) depending on size of brass, caliber and brand. I ve found 3-4 seconds is usually sufficient for 223/5.56.

BTW Mapp gas has more heat than propane. Old junk brass is good for practicing your technique!!

I have a slotted drum with a speed control. Brass loads through the slot and falls out through the slot.

You want 650f for a temperature on the neck. Tempilaq melts at 650f.