2 bullets for my carry gun compared

358 WCF

Beginner
Jan 31, 2020
Shot these this afternoon from a 3 1/2" S&W 469. The 1st water filled gallon jug was at 10 feet. it was a light duty range day, so neither was chronographed today. The Norma was clocked at 1171fps @ 10' instrumental a few weeks ago. Norma spec is 1312fps. The Federal load may have been checked a long time ago, but I dont have the data. Federal says 1060fps @ the muzzle.

The propeller... the new Norma 108gr MHP completely penetrated the 2nd jug & was found laying on the bench. The 3rd jug was basically untouched. Dimension across the petals is .956" & .958". It weighs 106.6gr.

The more traditional shaped mushroom was an old Federal 135gr Hydra-Shok, from the tail end of the lot that I've been carrying in this pistol since about 2003. It completely penetrated 2 jugs & was found in the 3rd. Diameter was .598" on the small side & .632" on the large. It weighs 134.5gr.

Norma 9mm 108 gr MHP thru 2 jugs & Federal 9mm 135gr Hydra-Shok inside 3rd jug (1).jpgNorma 9mm 108 gr MHP thru 2 jugs & Federal 9mm 135gr Hydra-Shok inside 3rd jug (2).jpg

I would guess a bigger wound Chanel from the propeller. What is two jugs worth of penetration? 14 inches or so? We carried the federals in 40 and 45.

Last edited:
Jugs are 5 3/4" square & were all touching.

The Federal HS still looks pretty deadly for 20+ year old ammunition, but guessing the Norma load will be what I carry from now on. It does look kinda like a blender blade.

They both look like they'd do whatever you'd ask of them. Seems like the velocity isn't much of a handicap, at least that 10 feet, but based on the extent of the expansion, I doubt 7 yards, or 27 yards would be a whole lot different.

That Norma would make a big hole in a hurry. Wouldn’t want to be on the receiving end of that one.

I carry the 124 hydraShok 9mm in my Shield plus.
I’m going to look into the 147 HST based on the conversation here.