300 Ultra range day

C.Smith

Handloader
Oct 11, 2006
Eveyone else talking about their range days got me motivated to load some roands and got to. Loaded up some 200 grain Accubonds sent to me with Retumbo. This is my first time using this powder. Used Nosler cases and opted for CCI250 instead of Federal GM215M's (my supply is low) and I'm tired of not seeing them for sale or if I do waaaay to much money.

So I started with some dry fire practice and the fireing pin did not sound like it was hitting very hard but thought it was me because it has been a few months since I shot it. Loaded it up and pulled the trigger and nothing. Tried this twice and figured somethind was not right. Had to dig around under seats in my car and luckily found a dime so I could take the bolt apart. I found a tiny peice of flattened brass that was blacked on one side and rounded on the other. Really strange, not even sure of what it was. Well that fixed the problem and took my time to shoot 5 different loads working up to 95 grains. Started with 91 which I had two almost touching the first shot was 3 inches lower (first fowler shot). 93 and 95 grains looked promising too.
IMG_0532.jpg

I guess I need to start seating 95 grains in a little at time and see if the group improves. I also shot my Savage 7RM yesterday with 160 accubonds with RL22. I was surprised to see that my velocities were quicker than when I worked this load up and it was colder outside (36 degrees). Only thing I can figure was my barrel is starting to smooth out finally. Shot a decent 3 round group. This picture is rotated a bit, sorry.
IMG_0533.jpg

Thanks for looking.

Corey

I forgot to add that the 300 RUM was keeping right up with the book on velocities. 91 grains gave me an average of 3031 fps and 95 grains gave an average of 3176 fps. I'm plenty happy with that.

Corey

That 95gr load looks like it could be the one. Same as what I use and it works great. Good luck!