7mm-08 150 Accubond

Gwalker308

Beginner
Oct 25, 2015
I am new to the group but my family and I have been shooting white tail deer with 7mm-08’s for about 30 years with great success. I loaded a 150 gr AccuBond on top of Varget powder which gives me a muzzle velocity right at 2700 FPS. This weekend we shot a deer at 70 yards and he dropped and laid on the ground for 15 minutes then recovered and ran off. The dogs trailed him for 5 miles and we never recovered the animal. There was dark brown hair all over the food plot and we only found 1 drop of blood. I am shocked at these results as Accubonds have worked well out of other rifles and the deer obviously received a huge shock from the AccuBond to drop in his tracks, the deer was hit a little far back but still in the lungs and dead center of the animal.

1.) has anyone had problems with Accubonds in the 7mm-08
2.) what kind of bullets are you using to kill white tails

I greatly appreciate any help that I can get

Grant

Sorry, but it does not sound like a bullet performance issue to me...and I have never had an AccuBond fail to do its job, regardless of caliber or cartridge, in numerous animals harvested with them since they were first introduced. And your bullet at that velocity should have proven as effective as any other used successfully with proper placement on game for over 100 years.

I can only ask why the animal was not verified as "dead" during the 15 minutes it lay there before its recovering and running off?

I think finding a better bullet than that will be tough and you'd like just chalk it up to things happen while we're hunting that sometimes cannot be explained. I am with BlkRam in that I haven't had an AccuBond not work and work well.

I am sorry to hear about the loss of an animal, but as we all know, if you haven't lost an animal you probably haven't hunted alot.