Accubond or Partition?

Firedog

Beginner
Oct 6, 2005
I have been testing loads in my .300 wby and the accuracy of the accubonds is amazing. Both the 180's and 200's are shooting 1/2 to 3/4 inch groups at 100 yards. Usually closer to ahlf if I do my job. I only had a few rounds left when I started shooting on the 200 and 300 yard ranges but the accuracy was the same. On the 300 yard range with the 200 grain accubonds I had two shots within an 1 1/2" and just above the bullseye.

Now to my question, I have done a lot of reading and there are a lot of opinions both ways.

Is the AccuBond as good a bullet for elk as the Partition? I shoot partitions and really like them. They shoot 1" groups with the 180's in my gun, havent shot 200's in partitions yet. So I don't want to change if I am going to loose killing power. Having a ahrd time deciding which ones to load up for my up coming trip to Montana. Thanks.

I am a huge fan of partitions, they have never let me down in 35 years of hunting, but i have seen some recovered accubonds and they looked like they did the job. If your gun shoots they well ( I have heard problems with accuracy) i think they would work fine on elk. You did say your 300 weatherby shot partitions into an inch at 100 yards, not bad in my books i would probably leave well enough alone.