Blackhorn 209?

RememberBaker

Beginner
Dec 2, 2012
Any of you guys use Blackhorn 209? I decided to try it this year, I've been using Triple seven pellets for a few years in our Traditions inline guns and I would have to swab the barrel between shots at the range or I couldn't get a sabot down the barrel. No problem with BH209, I shot 10-12 shots from each rifle and no cleaning between shots.
All three Traditions Pursuit UL rifles shot like this.
100 yard, 3 shot group, 80 grains BH209, 250 grain TC Shockwave, Crush Rib Sabot and Win 209 primer.

I threw the rest of my 777 powder away.

That sounds like pretty dramatic differential between the two powders. Fascinating.

How did you decide to use 80 grains? Did you "work up" the load or just get lucky? I just picked up a can of BH209 and some Harvester 250 gr Saber Tooth bullets but can't decide if I should start at 70 gr or 75gr.

On the bottles of BH 209 I have it lists the velocity of a number of bullet/charge combinations, the lowest charge they show is 80 grains so I thought that was the minimum. These three rifles are the ones my daughters shoot so I wanted as light a load as I dared. Maybe I will try 70 grains and see what happens. I really don't know, I was winging it, but the recoil was pretty mild and it shot well.

DrMike":1sysr7ea said:
That sounds like pretty dramatic differential between the two powders. Fascinating.
It is DrMike, I don't know anything about the composition of the powders, but this BH209 stuff seems totally different from stuff I've used before (Pyrodex granular, Pyrodex pellets and 777 pellets). Burns very clean and clean up is with normal powder solvents rather than soap and water, I used Hoppes #9 and that seemed to work well. I'd love to hear from someone who has more experience with it than I.