Fedx delivery/photo ID required

wvbuckbuster

Handloader
Nov 5, 2015
Saw on Natchez website that Fedx is now requiring photo ID like a federal type when hazardous stuff is delivered like powder and such. I guess this means driver's license or similar. Has anyone gone through this yet? Dan.

I bought primers from Natchez, they delivered them to my wife's office last week. I had warned her about this, so she was ready, but the FedEx driver didn't ask. Maybe because he knows her??

If you click the link on the Natchez site, it takes you to FedEx. They want you to have your ID scanned for automated age verification, but it also says you can decline the scan. This is for all HAZMAT shipping, so it likely is to meet some sort of DOT regulatory requirement for them. That said, in my personal experience I've never been asked for a signature on anything I've ever ordered and even had orders left on my porch before.

I was a FedEx driver and it applies to any age restricted items like alcohol and hazmat items. You can decline to have your ID scanned, the driver just enters they verified it, usually if the person is obviously over 18 I’ll just enter it that I verified it. The scanner won’t let you complete the delivery without verifying it, you’ll have to take it back with you. It doesn’t record any information on the ID, it just reads the birthday to verify age. Generally if it’s one of my regular customers I’d just leave it for them and enter age was verified it. It’ll be industry wide soon that age is “verified” with hazmat.

Last edited:
FedEx driver knows me and has left things for me. Just wondered if this was a new wrinkle. Dan.

If it’s a DOT regulation maybe it’ll be challenged in court seeing as how agencies do not have the power to make regulations as per the recent Supreme Court ruling.