Handgun Hunters, are you ready for fall?

Larry in SD

Handloader
Nov 8, 2004
Just curious if there are any other Handgun Hunters out there. I have been hunting with Single Shot Speciality Pistols since 1982. Over the years there have been T/C Contenders, T/C Encores, Remington XP-100's and a Savage Striker along the way. Cartridges I have used have included:

.223 Remington
6mm-223
6mmT/CU
.243 Winchester
.250 Savage
7-30 Waters
7mm I.H.M.S.A.
.284 Winchester
.30-30 Ackley Improved
.44 Remington Magnum

Recently I picked up a Stainless-Steel Super 14 7-30 Waters Contender Barrel. I have hunted with a 7-30 Waters several years ago, but it was with a 10" Contender.

At any rate upon receiving my Barrel I also received a set of RCBS Reloading Dies, 100 New Remington .30-30 Winchester Cases and 100 Nosler 120gr. Ballistic Tip Bullets.

To make 7-30 Waters Brass out of .30-30 Winchester Brass the first step is to neck the .30-30 Brass down to 7mm. During this process the necking down process leaves a false shoulder on the long .30-30 Case Neck. I adjusted my sizing die so as to form a tight fit for that false shoulder in my chamber to try to eliminate any case stretch during the fireforming process (required to blow out the case body and put the shoulder in the right place).

I read an article on the net about fireforming without using bullets. The article stated to neck the brass down (I had done that) and then fill the case to the case mouth with a fast burning pistol powder and weigh the amount of pistol powder. The article went on to say that the charge weight of the pistol powder would be approximately 10% to 14% of the total capacity.