Hog hunting with a rimfire ???

widgeon

Handloader
Feb 19, 2011
I am new to South Carolina and the methods of take and well... everything here. I have been fortunate enough to have befriended a tough as nails, retired airforce man. He has really taken me under his wing in learning the ins and outs of hunting in this area.

So, it is currently Small Game season here. The regulations dictate that it is legal to hunt hogs on most WMA land that is open to small game hunting. However, It is only lawfull to carry a .22 or smaller rimfire OR shotgun with #2 or smaller shot.

My friend has invited me to accompany him on a hunt next week. We had planned on going today, but I'm still in the process of moving in to an apartment and it's raining. Anyhow, he will be using his 22wmr and seems confident that at short range, you just put one behind the ear and it's lights out.

He is not a reckless type. He was out on Wed. eve and had a chance at a 300 lb boar, but decided that might not be such a good idea to upset a monster with a 40grn pill. Let alone trying to drag it back to his truck by himself.

We will be targeting smallish hogs and I am anxious to see what it's all about.

Have any of you done this? I will be using my rem ( 589?) 22lr. I recently bought a box of high velocity, 38grn hollow points. Any recomendations for a more suitable load?

Thanks,
Tony

While a 22LR will kill a hog under the right conditions, I wouldn't recommend for someone new to hog hunting. I have killed a couple with a 22LR but that was when I was younger and more indestructable. I would use solid bullets and not hollow points. I would recheck the SC regs on what you can carry. How about handguns? I was born and raised in SC but quit hunting WMA land years ago. Friend and I are going this afternoon but both will have 30/06s and will be on private land.Rick.