Just a couple questions

goose25

Beginner
Mar 3, 2007
Hi guys,
I'm just getting into reloading and I have a couple questions Im hoping you can help me with.:grin:

I picked up the Lyman reloading handbook and have a RCBS Starter Kit on it's way. I'm also heading out to my local gun shop this week to pick up a couple items that is needed to begin;

RCBS KIT;
* Reloader Special-5 Press
* 5-0-5 Scale
* Case Loading Block
* Case Lube Kit
* Primer Tray-2
* Powder Funnel
* Deburring Tool
* Speer Reloading Manual #13

to buy list;
* .30-06 Lee deluxe Die set
* Lee case trimmer, w/case lenght gauge + shellholder
* Primer pocket cleaner
* Lee auto prime + shellholder
* Powder Trickler
* vernier caliper
* Bullets, Powder, Brass, Primers

Future to buy list;
* Chronograph
* Bullet Puller

Am I missing anything?

I was told by a velvet 'stached 18 year old clerk at a gun shop that I would need to replace the lock rings on the Lee die's? Is this true?

How Do I determine the maximum cartridge length for my rifle? And how do I determine the right "Distance to lands" when seating a bullet? Being a NOOB, Should I be concerned with this? Can someone point me in the right direction or shed some light on this subject?

I would like to work up a practice load with cheaper bullets that will mimic my more expensive hunting loads. I mostly hunt Whitetail and black bear with this particular rifle. Some/most of you might suggest that I do not need a premium bullet for CXP2 class game at .30-06 velocities, But I have had the unfortunate experience of losing a black bear in the past, which had been shot at 20 yards with a 180gr core-lokt. :( was it bullet failure? Was it the man behind the gun? I'll never know. All I can say is that it sucks, and from that moment on I decided that I rather spend an extra couple bucks on Premium bullets for hunting purpose's rather than risking the chance of wounding an animal and failing to recover it.