Load data for the 270?????

dustygriley

Beginner
Oct 10, 2004
I am relatively new to reloading and am looking for a good load to use in my 270. I shoot a Remington model 700 outifitted with a Leupold 3x9x40. A friend loaded some 150 gr. ballistic tips for me that shoot excellent, but when it comes to taken down a deer, well I question them. I have shot a few deer with these loads but it always takes more than 1 shot and the bullets seem to just fall apart on impact without doing much damage. So I have purchased some nosler 150 grain partitions and am wondering if anybody has any suggestions as far as amount of powder ect. I previously have loaded the ballistic tips with 56.2 grains of H4831 and can put a group of 3 all touching each other at 150 yards. This load is extremely accurate in this gun, but what should I expect if I switch bullets??? Will it make that much difference in my accuracy or should I mess around with my loads? I have all the ballistic data in books that I can get but am just wondering if anybody has some personal experience with these loads. Any help will be greatly appreciated.....

I would back off my previous load by 3 grains and work up to your current load to see if you encounter any pressure signs. Chances are good that your ballistic tip load will work fine with the Partition. I would be surprised if the Partition matches the excellent accuracy you have achieved with the ballistic tips. If you crave the BT accuracy and sleeker profile of the plastic tip, try some of the 140 gr Accubonds. I hear that they are outstanding, and I am hoping to field test them this weekend in my 270 short mag.

I have been usung the 140 AccuBond in my 270WSM. Accuracy has been as good as BTs. I used the AccuBond on a pronghorn with excellent results. At the shot the Buck was down and dead with a heart - lung shot. I think you would be happy with the AccuBond.