new build started (updated)

shoots_5

Handloader
May 15, 2009
First step of my dream build got started last night! I ordered a .30 cal titanium suppressor from templar tactical...got it for just over half price so I couldn't resist. I figured by the time all the paperwork cleared the BATF the rest of the rifle would be about complete. Here's what I've got planned....

Remington 700 action, will be fully trued at time of rebarrel
Obermeyer 6.5mm barrel, 1:8.4 twist, Remington varmint contour
Chambered in 260 Remington
Manners T5A stock in od green with their mini chassis system and DBM
Leupold mark 4 6.5-20x50 M5 FFP TMR reticle
Atlas bipod
Metal will be cerakoted in sniper grey

I have it down to 2 smiths, but still not settled on which one will be putting it together.

Now for my question...I have no personal experience with the 260, and I'm debating barrel length. Right now I'm thinking 24". With that length and from what I've read about the suppressor possibly adding some velocity is that an appropriate length? I'm worried about going longer and having it be too cumbersome to practically use in the field. Rifle will be used for long range target, some hunting of deer sized game and predators and I really want to get into tactical type competition. Planning on shooting either 130 or 140 Berger's.

Can't wait to have the finished project....luckily it looks like I'm going to be plenty distracted attending the police academy while it's being built! Otherwise I'm not sure I could stand the wait!