Nosler Partitions

cutthroat

Beginner
Nov 7, 2006
I have always been a believer in the 30.06. It is the rifle I grew up and have shot for pert near 40 years. I have always used a 150 grain round but have struggled with the issue of lost meat if the shot was not perfectly placed. When my beloved Ruger 30.06 would no longer hold a group and needed to be sent off for tuning, a friend convinced me to try the 300 Win instead of just buying another 30.06. I also own a Remington 06 that my son uses. He also convinced me that I needed to use heavier bullets for both weapons. The most important advice he gave me was to start using Nosler partitions for both calibers. I started learning to reload this summer so I loaded partitions in 165 grains for the 06 and 180 grains for the 300.

The reults? On the range both rifles sighted in to a quarter sized group. In the field? The results have been phenomenal. We have a normal size entrance wound, a 50 cent piece size exit wound and almost no lost meat. The best part is that the kills have been very, very clean.

I am believer. Not only will we use only Nosler Partitions in the big game rifles, but also in the 22-250 for use on larger varmints.

Welcome to the forum! Yup I love the 30-06 also and the NP's never let me down.

Welcome ot the Nosler buller fan club! :grin:
The PT's are awesome bullets. They always work leaving a nice exit wound. Now you need to give the Accubonds a try.

Glad you found us.

JD338

Your experience mirrors mine with the Partitions. I think they are great with all calibers but maybe especially in the 30 cal.

Oh yeh, welcome to the site.

Long

Welcome to the forum!
I use the 200 grain partitions in my 300RUM at 3100fps, and I love the results.
CAUTION: POP and JD338 will do their best to "corrupt" you and cause you to try accubonds!! :lol: :lol:

340boy":1y4q6jvt said:
Welcome to the forum!
CAUTION: POP and JD338 will do their best to "corrupt" you and cause you to try accubonds!! :lol: :lol:

:wink: