Opinions on Leupold Alternatives

Thanks Jim. And thanks to all for your input.

I’ve decided to give Burris a try. This doesn’t mean I’m going to hock all my Leupold scopes as I’ve had better luck that most with them. As per the purpose of this post I was looking for an also-ran, a runner up so to speak that could be counted on or turned to as an alternative to Leupold.

Got a Fulfield II in the mail last week and am thinking I will put it on either my .22-250 or .25-06 to start out.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That seems like a reasonable course of action.

I've been using mostly Leupold scopes since the 1970's - only had one that needed to be sent in for repair - a 4.5-14x in the late 1990's. I was using it on a SWAT rifle and the windage adjustment went out on it. The department actually owned that scope. Leupold turned it around very quickly, for free of course.

But... last year Scotty talked me into trying a 6x SWFA, and I'm kinda blown away by that scope! It's only $300, but performs very well. It's a much larger, heavier scope than the Leupolds I normally use, but not ungainly. Brightness & clarity are good. Reputation is that it's rugged as all get out. I've had it afield quite a bit and it's got my stamp of approval, for whatever that's worth.

Guy

I still own a number of older Leupolds. My only complaint is that they seem to drift POI season to season. Not much but enough to have to tweak. My son has a Bushnell 3200 elite on a Remington 7600 in 35 Whelen. POI has not moved since the scope was mounted over 10 years ago. (still using powder from the original lot of RL15).

I used to own only Leupolds back in the 80's thru early 2000's. Every VariX-II and newer versions of the same would drift and required me to verify ZERO and adj. Some of the VXIII. Used CS couple of times with NO complaints back then. I still own a Leupold VX2 on a Savage 99 but have since moved on, been using Vortex Viper & Razor, Swaro and Zeiss.
Happy so far.