Problem with seating depths

bowhuntr09

Beginner
Nov 16, 2005
I had a friend come over tonight to show me the ropes with reloading since I am new at this. I have the Lee Anniversary kit and RGB dies and we were trying to load for .270 using Winchester brass and 130 gr. Nosler ballistic tips. No matter what we tried we could not get consistent OAL on any of the 10 rounds we loaded. I don't mean each one was off just a hair, there were big differences in OAL with out us making any adjustments between rounds. Sometimes when we were making adjustments to the seating depth we would put a round back in to seat it a little more and it would actually end up longer than when we started. It's as if the seating die is pulling the bullets back out of the brass. My friend has been reloading for years and seems to know what he is doing, does any one have any ideas? Is there a problem with the dies and ballistic tips or some trick to it?

Did you adjust the seating die so that the built in crimper is not touching the case mouth? Correct shell holder? Are you measuring OAL or to the ogive? Remove the seating stem from the die and clean the inside of the stem. FL or neck sized?Rick.

I'd follow Rick's checks or questions. Also seating depths can change as you load probably due to the locking nut moving. I figure it's the threads on the die changing its position. I've seen as much as .010" change and .005 is common. If you are getting more than this variation then I'd check Rick's suggestions. It's possible that you are crimping before you’re fully seated.

bowhuntr09":15oyby9k said:
INo matter what we tried we could not get consistent OAL on any of the 10 rounds we loaded. ?

If the load you are using requires quite a bit of powder compression to get the bullet seated, this will sometimes lead to erratic bullet seating depth. If this might be the case, use a powder drop tube and/or vibrate the powder level downward in the case before trying to seat bullet.

Lee Carkenord