Range Report and many lessons learned

.300winmag

Handloader
Oct 17, 2011
Well made it out to the range the other day to make some final checks on all the rifles and it started pretty frustrating to say the least, but I learned several important lessons! Here's how it all went.

It all started with a trip to Cabela's, where I bought everything I needed for hunting season and a buch of other things I didn't need but got my hands on and walked out with. I hope I'm not the only one with this problem in this store... any ways, one of the things I actually needed was RL-22. I have been using this powder for over ten years now and been very pleased with it, and it is my powder of choice for both of my .300 Win. Mag. loads. I came home, cleaned my rifle and loaded up 20 210gr. Berger VLD's and 10 190gr. Sierra MK's and headed behind the house to shoot.

Since I had just cleaned my rifle I decided I'd foul my barrel with my light load of 70.4 grs. RL-22 and then move onto the stout load with the Berger's. I settled in behind the gun and fired my first shot. Nothing out of the norm so far, until I tried opening my bolt. It was extremely stiff and there was a very evident extractor mark on case head. This threw up a red flag immediately. I had been shooting this load for three years now and never had any signs of pressure. The load is way under max according to the books. I decided to shoot one more and see if it was a fluke. The same thing happened. I knew something was wrong then, so I packed up and headed for home.