Rifle Accuracy "Tuning"

joelkdouglas

Handloader
Jun 5, 2011
Hey gents

I'm relatively new to reloading (about a year now). I also have little kids and can only shoot every 3 or 4 weeks, so I thought I'd speed along my experimentation by asking ya'll some questions.

I shoot a Remington 700 BDL, chambered in .30-06, with a 24-inch barrel. Timney trigger (3 pound pull), HS Precision stock, and I typically shoot off a Harris bipod.

I use a Lee press, Lee neck sizing die (unless rounds are difficult to chamber, in which case I full size, and then I can neck size again for 3 or 4 more loadings), and Forster micro bullet seater die. I also commonly use a Lee factory crimp die.

I only have IMR4350 and CCI primers on my bench. I am using Lapua brass. I shoot either 168 grain Nosler Custom Competition bullets or 165 - 180 grain Accubonds.

My group sizes are around 1.5 inches normally, with a load of 57.0 grains of IMR 4350, for both the Accubonds and CCs.

Questions:
1. Should I just call it good and be happy with these groups? I realize there's the potential for shooter error since I just use the bipod, no fixed shooting platform.

2. My overall length I just set to 3.340 inches, measured from the tip of the AccuBond / CC to the base of the case. This likely results in a seating depth difference between the two bullets. My magazine has room to make the cartidges longer, and I have about 0.05 inches left (with the Accubonds anyway) before I get to the lands. Should I try increasing the length of the rounds? Does DECREASING the length of the round ever result in smaller groups?

3. What are your suggestions for tuning with the amount of powder? I have really only tried 57.0 grains because that's what the Nosler guide says was their most accurate load. How do you start this process? Anybody have any experience with a Rem 700, 24 inch barrel, or does every rifle have its own harmonics?

4. What group sizes are you satisfied with?