Thompson Center Venture Predator ?

35 Whelen

Handloader
Dec 22, 2011
What can anyone tell me good or bad about these guns?
After some research I have come to the realization that my minty model 100 Winchester is just worth way too much in todays market to trash it out as a snowmoble gun!
Hence I started looking at Ruger Americans and Tikka T3s
But then noticed the T/C Predator in Snow Camo and it looks like perfect little gun to hunt coyotes in the snow!
But since I have no experience with T/C rifles though I might find someone on here that does!
wm_8625114 (1).jpg

I bought one, scoped, a few years back in .223 as I was trying to sell my AR-15. I've had it to the range, numerous time and it has performed well with Win White Box .225/55gr and my cast .55gr flat point. I'm now loading some 77gr that I want to experiment with. I've had no issues with it and it has been a great coyote gun. I would recommend it. I was looking at the Howa as well, but other than price point, I can't speak to them as to their reliability.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I had one in a 22-250 E. I liked the rifle quite a lot. It was accurate and well built.

Not sure which cartridge your looking at but the 223's and 22-250's are twisted on the slow side. In this case the RARs are a better mousetrap in my opinion since the 223's are an 8 twist (have one) and the 22-250's are a 10 twist.

If the venture was a 8 twist in the 22-250 or 223 it'd be a no brainer, I'd go Venture all day long.

Thanks Scotty,
Its just going to be a 243...... Thats been working fine with those 70gr Armageddons, so figured I will
Stick with what works ( wish it came in 6.5x55 though!)
Almost was thinking of a 7mm08 but that would involve dies
Cases, bullets etc.......so figured what the 243 wont do the 270
Sure will
Eman

That would work E. I was thinking the 7-08 a little as well. Makes sense to keep the same as you have been running.