11.7mm Danish

Guy Miner

Master Loader
Apr 6, 2006
About to embark on a new project! Learning, loading for, and using the 11.7mm Danish Rolling Block!

I've been dreaming of shooting this big boy since I was a kid, 50 years ago. Dad decided he'd never get around to shooting it, so he gave it to me a few days ago. Stand by for a handloading and range review!

Guy

Sounds fun! Looking forward to your progress reports

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

A local buddy of mine got his copy of QL just so he could work with this same cartridge. The old cartridges are fascinating. It is interesting to see the improvement in performance with newer components.

hodgeman":3hxya0iz said:
It's a Euro flavored 45-70!

Yes, they are very close! Dad tells me that sometime in the late 1940's or early 1950's he managed to cram a .45-70 into it and shoot it once - but that it didn't fit real well. I can't get a .45-70 to drop into the chamber, so he must have worked some magic back then... :grin:

People tell me the bore on these things is often around .460 - .462, so I'm looking for hollow-base, soft lead bullets of at least .459" dia, something that will "bump up" and fill the bore when fired.

I'll slug the bore first anyway - just to check.

Guy

That is pretty danged cool. Never heard of the cartridge. Where do you get brass for it?

I have passed up on a few of those over the years wanting a smaller caliber. I did find one when I was a teenager in 7mm Mauser but my father wouldn't let me buy it, said $50 was too much for it and he was probably right since that was back in the 1960's. Wish I had it now.

SJB358":2ce3hoaj said:
That is pretty danged cool. Never heard of the cartridge. Where do you get brass for it?

Can form it from .348 Win brass.

.45/70 brass is close, but... not quite right.

Buffalo Arms actually sells ammo & brass for it, using re-formed .348 Win brass:

http://www.buffaloarms.com/

Guy

Guy Miner":1uao3nrr said:
SJB358":1uao3nrr said: