223 deer round

irocbarry

Beginner
Sep 5, 2006
before you jump all over me let me explain

i have a doe tag this year for population control, theres deer friggin everywhere.

since i just bought my 223 i figured i might as well use it for something usefull

i plan on using the 60gr PT and keeping the shot within 100 yds, in reality itll probably be 25-50 yds.

since i have yet to load for this gun/caliber i have no experience with it, and what powders etc. to use

so i was wondering what kinda powder and how much you would recomend for this bullet and gun combo for an accurate round with decent speed.

the gun is my stevens 200

also to be even more against what the norm is, whats your opinion in head shots within this range, hitting at the base of the head/top of the neck.
ive seen more deer killed with shots like that then chest shots, and never seen one get away from a head shot, but ive lost a deer with a good chest shot (atleast i believe it was, and the blood trail said it was, the darn thing would not bed down, got very dark, left it to bed and die over night, snowed 10-12 inches that night, worst feeling ive ever had. exact reason i dont use core-lokts anymore)

im assuming that most of the bullets in 22 cal are varmint style, and wont get the penitration, thats why i wanna shoot the PT's

The 22 calibers are varmit rounds, not big game getters, regardless what anyone else will say. Head shots will kill anything but only if the brain is hit. The 22 LR has been known to kill many animals with a shot to the brain.
You would really be better off with a larger diameter and heavier bullet.

JD338

I am as much against using 22's for deer as I am using Matchkings AKA(Trashkings) or other target bullets for big game hunting.

That said :grin: I realize there are states out there that allow such practices. I have buddies in Montana and Texas and they use the 60 gr Partition and the Various Barnes X with great luck so....good luck!