Annealed & Non-Annealed Brass?

ElmerThud

Handloader
Jul 16, 2011
Does anyone notice a different POI of brass that has been anneald, than once fired from new brass, that hasn't been annealed yet - with identical loads?
I have certainly found that there is, also that it's somewhat significant.
What are your views?

Everything as close to identical as possible.
Shot at same time on range while testing/checking loads. Anneald shot to zero and newly loaded once fired un-anneald approx 1 1/2" high.
Barrel properly cold at start of each 3 shot group. Same make of brass.
All brass fired in my rifle from new. Close attention to detail with brass prep in all cases.
Same batch primers and identical charge, bullet and seating.
Bullets all crimped with Lee FCD, so as near even neck tension as possible.
All close & tight groups, but POI difference.

I'm not an expert at reloading but I would think you are seeing more spring back from the brass that isn't annealed so you have less grip with it. Unless you are shooting lead bullets a semi auto, lever or pump action I would stop crimping my loads and try that to see if there is a difference.JMO

I have never thought to check. I always weigh my brass and keep it together in lots of 20 and are all reloaded, annealed, sized, primed at the same time. I have probably never shot new brass and old brass in the same shot string. Interesting however. Could there have been another factor?

I never have annealed before. I just use a whole batch of 100 pieces of virgin brass before I plan to resize. I mark each batch after each session, I put all brass in zip lock bags and mark number of times fired. After I use all new brass fired once, then I resize, trim, prep brass to be fired again, and follow the same path until I fire all 100 pieces, and then round two is next. I never mix brass from lot to lot or mix brass that has been fired more than the other. Maybe soon I'll add the Annealeez to my reloading bench. It's the missing link.