Backup Rifle

Guy Miner

Master Loader
Apr 6, 2006
Nitis brought up a "which rifle" question, and 2Shaky brought up what I thought was a good point - bringing a backup rifle on a hunt.

How many of you do that? Bring a backup rifle?

I was well set on my bear hunt last week. Was hunting with the .375 Ruger Number One, which was an absolute hoot. And my son was carrying the ancient M1917 .30-06 which I've been shooting since the late 1960's when I was a kid. If the big Ruger failed, got dropped or for some reason was out of the picture, I'd have been fine. Could have just grabbed ye old .30-06 and taken my bear with it.

My 5-10" 135 pound teenage son wasn't in such an enviable position... He's a little intimidated by the .375 :grin: Seeing how just this year he worked up to shooting the .30-06 with confidence. The '06 is the biggest rifle he's shot, and he wants nothing to do with my .375 H&H. Go figure!

Re the backup rifle thought - I've taken one several times, but am always at least a little worried about it being stolen while I'm not around. I've left a backup rifle in the motel room, in camp, and locked in my truck - but am never completely sure it's going to be there when I return. Worth considering. For the past 15 years or so I haven't hunted a lot with the old .30-06, but it's often along. Sighted-in as always with 165 gr Noslers at 200 yards. It never changes, it's always there. And I know that I could have just used it all along to take the various game animals.

Hunting close to home, I just don't bother taking a backup. If I stumble and break my rifle or something I might miss a half-day of hunting while I go back to the house for something else. It's those week long trips into the high mountains, or out of state when I'll drag along a second rifle.

Do you take one? What do you take? Security of that rifle when you're not with it?

Guy