How about a "How To"... from the guys who have gon

nodak7mm

Handloader
Jan 19, 2008
If someone was to ask you "How To go hunt Africa", what would you say? Some of my basic questions that come to mind are:

Where does one go?

What can one expect to pay for a basic hunt, all inclusive?

Suggest reading?

Best way to research?

How long is an avg hunt?

Unexpected costs?

Rod

Rod, I am by no means an expert aka: Boddington. But this is what I learned from my travels there.
It depends on what type of animals you want to hunt. Like Nayala's are mostly found in the KwaNatal/Zulu areas. This is a greener type of area with lots of thick bushes. I believe the Waterbucks also like this type of areas. I noticed that the West side of South Africa has more Gemsbucks, I think because of the dryer climate. You can find most of the plains game in SA.

As for amount you pay, I've noticed that many of the ranch owners are putting together packages where you can hunt 5 or more trophy animals with cull animals in the 5k to 7k range. Most of the outfitters will have someone meet you at the airport. I believe that they also come with meals and washing of clothes. It cost me about 10k for a plains game hunt in the area of 7 to 10 days. This was aslo because I bought a rifle for the hunt. This should include airfare, tipping and bribes. Yes BRIBES. Our outfitter related that for a few dollars it can make your trip hard or easy.
Lets face it its just the way it is there. Example: On my way back from the hunt I was the only hunter on the DASH 8 into Joberg. Its funny that they counldn't find my rifle until a tip was given to the three officals. Then the case suddenly was found. When I arrived and left, I hired what I call a "fixer" who took care of all papaerwork in a speedy manner. (If you know what I mean)