Kimber or Sako

HuntMontana

Beginner
Jun 12, 2008
I am looking for a 300 win mag. I have read up on some of the pros cons for both. What do you think would be the best bang for the buck Sako or Kimber?

I have no experience with either company as far as rifles go but,
I do like kimber's pistols and think any time you can buy a high quality AMERICAN made product you should.

Kimber rifles haven't quite got it right yet. They are still having accuracy and feeding problems. Their rifles are bedded on a slave action, not the action that goes into the stock. Had a friend who sent his Montana 7/08 back to the factory twice for accuracy problems. Both times it was returned with targets displaying 1.5" groups at 50 yds and they stated that was acceptable accuracy. I know their are people who have had no problems with their Kimbers but it looks like a $1000 crap shoot to me. I had one for several months and tried a variety of loads, seven or eight different powder/primer combos. Tried different scopes/rings/mounts. Had several different people shoot the rifle. Now it has gone to another. Nice looking and handling but it has to shoot better than it did. I would have accepted 1" at 100yds, it never got below 1.5". An out of the box Savage will usually do better. No more Kimbers for me. I did contact Kimber and told them what all I had tried and the results. They sent me the torque settings for the action screws that were different from those sent to one of my buddies who also tried a Kimber.Rick.

HuntMontana":2fe2m01m said:
I am looking for a 300 win mag. I have read up on some of the pros cons for both. What do you think would be the best bang for the buck Sako or Kimber?