Load Development Sanity Check

bob_dobalina

Handloader
Oct 6, 2009
I got some load data from Barnes and plan to work up a load for my 300 WSM with RL17. I've never used a chrono before but have one coming tomorrow - a ProChrono PAL. Anyways here is their data which I've tried to match exactly as far as components.

180 gr TTSX BT
Primer Remington 9 1/2M
COAL - 2.830"
Reloder 17
Starting Load 59.4 grains 2753 FPS
Max Load 66 grains 3081 FPS

I even seated to the same COAL. The only difference is the data stated a 1:10" twist rate and my gun has a 1:11" twist; interestingly the box the bullets came in state to use with an 1:11" twist or greater.

The load data seems to match Alliant's load data of max load of 66 grains, and a 10% reduction for a starting load, and is a cooler primer that Alliant recommended.

Anyways, I loaded one of each of the following charges - 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 64.5, 65.5, and 66.

I plan to shoot from 60 to 66 watching for pressure signs along the way, and stopping short of the max load velocity of 3081FPS. My thoughts are staying below max velocity should keep me below max pressure. Does this seem like a safe an reasonable plan?

AccuBond is my go to bullet but I wanted to play around a little and I feel better having some actual data - I emailed nosler a year ago about RL17 and nothing but I should check back.

The chrono will be a bonus to your shooting. I don't make as many sets when I'm working up a new load. A 2% variation will give you about all the data you need. The R9.5M primer is relatively cool, but it will work quite well in your 300WSM due to the shorter powder column. You should find a fine load lurking in your sets.

Thanks - ya probably overkill. I've already worked up to 62 grains of RL17 with Accubonds and WLR primers so the lighter loads this time weren't necessary. But, I'll get to play with my chrono! I'll work on some groups once I get a better handle on how these are doing.