My First and a Lesson or Two

KinleyWater":2r4h52ra said:
Everyone - Thank you. This really is a great forum.

On hand, I have 180 and 250 HotCor, 200 InterLock (What I'm trying to get away from) and 200 FTX, 225 Sierra GK, and some original Barnes X, I think in 200 and 225, though I'd have to check.

I have zero, none, zip, zilch, nada experience with the Barnes and whenever I think about loading them, I pause at the exceptionally small size of the aperture at the tip.

So, from what I am reading, I think I will work up a fairly stiff load for the 250 HotCors, unless I can find some AB or PT at a price I'm willing to pay (glaring at you Midway).

CL - you can say that again.

Again, thanks all.

I can say I have some experience with the TSX bullet in the .35 Whelen. Six elk so far all for all practical purposes one shot kills or stops. The stop were hit so hard they were unable to get up to try and get away. None moved in any direction except straight down. The load was 60.4 gr. Re15, Remington brass, Winchester WLR primer and the 225 gr. Barnes TSX. Start lower because while this load is safe in my custom Mauser, it proved to be way too hot for my Remington M700 Classic. Velocity was 2710 FPS with most shots making half inch groups from the Mauser. No apparent pressure signs in the Mauser but very stiff bolt lift from the Remington. Results were so satisfactory that I really never looked to try any other load combos in that rifle. Maybe I'll try Accubonds or Partitions in the Remington one of these days. I did get some decent results with the 250 gr. Speer Hot Cores in the Mauser, Remington 700 and a Ruger M77RS I have using H335. The Hornady SP and RN also shot well in all three rifles.