Nikon

jiggs

Beginner
Dec 5, 2005
My brother has his heart set on a nikon scope.I my self am sold on leopold ,and so have tried to talk him in to one . So with no succsess
he orded the nikon 3x10 -40 pro saff ...... GUYS ARE THESE SCOPES ALRIGHT..???

Actually the Nikon Monarch scopes are pretty good. I have a 5.5x15.5 on my 22-250 and a 2.5x8 on a contender barrel.
I too am a Leupold fan. Its hard to beat a VXIII.
I am going to buy a 4.5x14 B&C VXIII for my 280 AI this spring.

Regards,

JD338

Howdy. I have owned the 3-9 pro staff and it was a fine scope for the money. I have a 3-9 BuckMaster on my H@R ultra slug gun and it performs very well with that being said, there still not a Leupold.
Joe

The new nikon buckmasters are suppose to be a hell of a scope, but like another guy said, it still aint a Leupold. If Leupold was not in business, heaven forbid, I would probly go with a Nikon Monarch. You cant really beat VX3 or MK4 Leupold glass for the money.

Although I have several VX III leupold scopes, I have found the Nikon to be much clearer, when comparing apples to apples, power and Obj lense dia being the same. After some comparisons recently, I now have a Nikon Tactical 4X16X50 on order. That's not to say Leupolds aren't good scopes, they are. Just my $.02.

Nothing against a Nikon scope but a friend had one for sale recently and had a hard time selling it. He later sold a similiar Leupold the day he put it up for sale. In my part of the country the Leos sell used much better than any other brand. Just a consideration.

Leupold is #1 and has no peer for the blue collar man.

The Nikon's have half the mil thickness in their barrel tubes as Leupold. They will bend. Seen it.

I put a pro staff 3-9 on my 350mag Have'nt shot it much since I put it on. It is just as clear as VX II. I'm putting one on my 30/06 soon. The wife's 223 amd my mauser may get one too.