Not impressed with Winchester brass

orion11

Beginner
Oct 22, 2007
Bought 200 new Winchester cases and did most of the prep work on them yesterday. Not too impressed with their quality control. I ran them thru the full length sizer, then got to measuring and inspecting them. Many were close to the max case length needed to be trimmed. Also, alot of them were not cut square at the case mouth, difference of .005 to .007 in some cases. I only had to discard two of them that I could not trim and get into specs but, I just thought this was alot of work to have to prepare new brass for its initial use? Sure, I am picky and want everything to be in spec and look new, am I being too critical here? I am fairly new to the reloading game and have not bought alot of new brass to date but it seems to me it would be pretty simple to at least get all your brass into spec before you package it? 22-250 by the way. Anyone have this same problem and, is that the case with anyone's brand of new brass?

I've always full-length resized new brass, then set up to trim it all down to minimum. I've never had a problem, but then again, I didn't measure out the necks to be sure they're square - I just assumed they were. I'm guessing the amount of 'unsquare' you found is not something readily apparent to the naked eye?

If you want better brass, you'll have to step up from Winchester/Remington to something like Nosler, Hornady, Lapua, or Norma. I have some Norma brass for my 270Wby, and it is phenomenally high quality stuff, right out of the box.

+ 1 to what dubyam said.

Try some Nosler brass.

JD338

A few weeks ago I had preped 100 new win 22-250 brass. I wasn't to discusted with them. I did see lots of variation in case lenght, but no more than I've seen in Rem. I was really unimpressed with my PMC brass - Some didn't trim the primer pockets with my RCBS pocket uniformer. When seating primers, I had several that fell out of the PMC - that stuff is now in the garbage.