Tried something new - Vortex PST = UPDATE ---

Teknys

Handloader
Jan 14, 2008
I've only bought Leupold scopes since 1978. This is my first time straying since.
I'm trying the Vortex PST 4x16x50 EBR-1 MRAD. If this scope line turns out as well as people on the optic forums say they are, I should be happy with it. I'm keeping a realistic expectatation on this because of the price point of the scope. It should be here next week but it might be a few weeks before I can shoot it.

FFP or SFP? I bought one of the 4-16x50 (and a 6-24x50) in SFP MOA models, but I haven't had a chance to try them out.

I'm using the PST 1-4X24 MRAD on my Model 94. It is a good scope priced competitively. I don't believe you'll be displeased with your PST.

I bought the SFP for less $. I use a Leica 1600 for ranging.

I plan / want to learn to use the EBR-1 for estimating range though.

For hunting applications I'll just use my battery powered ........

UPDATE:
I've got the scope and I bought Weaver Multi Slot base and the Weaver 6 Hole Tactical Rings in LOW. That surprised me (low) is what was able to use on a 50mm obj.

With MY EYES this is what I saw the first night. It was not a direct comparison since I had a Leupold VX3 3.5x10x40 sitting in my office easy to grab. I did this at 4x to keep them close to the same.

Out side with the sun still in the sky:
Both Scopes clear, now with the side focus on the PST I could get the image sharper at any distance.

Just before the sun went behind the ridge:
PST still bright and sharp and the colors seemed to still "pop" good contrast of colors.
VX3 still bright but the colors were starting to fade (just barely).

Sun behind the ridge and a sunset in the sky.
PST and VX3 brightens everything up and could see neighbors little dog in yard at 600 yds. Again with the side focus on the PST and my "old" eyes..... it sure helps.