Tweaking a RCBS chargemaster 1500

lanman

Beginner
Dec 3, 2011
I have been using an RCBS Chargemaster for about 4-5 years. I once had an issue with it where when I pressed the "CAL" button nothing would happen. I spot check it periodically with bullets of known weights. I pressed the Cal button today and it worked fine.. I have no idea why? Then I realized that I had forgotten how to calibrate it. In the process of searching for instructions, I ran across a bunch of modifications that chargemaster users can do to there unit to increase the dispenser speed..

Normally, I dump a charge, hit dispense then pack a bullet, measure OAL, wipe the case down and wait on the next charge to finish measuring. I made modifications to mine today and I now have powder waiting for me instead of me waiting for it.

The RCBS chargemaster has 4 speeds. High, medium, slow and trickle.
It transitions from high to medium at 15.68 grains away from the target weight
It transitions from medium to slow at 3.42 grains away from the target weight
It transitions from slow to trickle at 1.08 grains away from the target weight

Reprogram Parameters:
Press edit/mem and Enter @ same time
will say Adjust Parameters
scroll to Fast -Med Transition and set to 11.00
Med-Slow Transition and set to 2.50
Slow-trickle Transition and set to .8

Factory settings are 15.68 - 3.42 - 1.08 to reset to original factory settings.

1) Make sure the unit is perfectly level front to rear. Some ChargeMasters, particularly the early-production units, are sensitive to front/rear leveling.
2) Don't leave the power cord coiled up in a loop; this can cause a magnetic field that can affect read-outs.

Activating the Auto-Dispense Mode