45 Colt

shoots_5

Handloader
May 15, 2009
Ok, I'm new to pistol reloading but have extensive experience in rifle precision reloading. I recently bought a Citadel Levtac 92 chambered in 45 colt. I've always liked lever guns but have never owned one until now. I have a Texas Hog hunt coming up this summer and that was the push I needed to get this gun. I have a holosun red dot mounted on it and a Silencer Co Octane 45 suppressor mounted on it. I've been working up some loads but I'm having trouble with very large extreme spreads on the velocity. I'm hoping someone here can help me trouble shoot. I just tested a load using Oregon Trail laser cast 250gr hard cast bullets, starline new brass, Federal large pistol primer and Winchester 231 powder with a 7.0 grain charge. OAL is 1.570". Average velocity on my Garmin Xero C1 is 922fps, spread is 115.8, standard deviation of 30.5 over 25 rounds measured. Accuracy is about an 1.25" at 50 yards.

Photo of loaded round and bullet attached. I have very little experience with having to crimp a round so if you have any advice on how I can tighten this load up I'm all ears! My target velocity is 1000fps so I upped the charge to 7.3gr and we'll see where that lands.

**edit**

I should also mention that I'm weighing each charge thrown on an RCBS chargemaster digital scale.

Thanks for any help you might have!

Tim

Attachments

• image0.jpeg
    image0.jpeg
    378.8 KB · Views: 6
Last edited:
Here is a website with lots of cast bullet info.

When I do my crimping on rifle and pistol I tend to just snug them, I like Redding taper crimp die and do it as a completely sperate step.

Re the crimp, I like using the inexpensive Lee Factory Crimp Die for revolver type rounds. A roll crimp is a good option too, but with either, I get my best results by seating in one step and crimping in the next.