Cutting custom dies to fit custom chambers?

jgradyo

Beginner
Feb 17, 2006
I posted the following in "Rifles" and got no bites at all:

Next year's chambering prompted me to grab a copy of P.O. Ackley's 2 volume set. I'll be darned if I can find it right now, but I read somewhere in there about (probably when buying a custom rifle in a wildcat chambering) having reloading dies cut by the same smith that does the chamber. I can imagine a FL Sizing die with closer tolerances than even the best toolmaker going from a SAAMI spec or a drawing.

I've done some reloading (Hornet, .223, 8x57, .300 Win, .45ACP), but I'm no expert. Would there be a measurable benefit (case life, accuracy, ease of setup, safety??) from reloading with a die made like that? I'd think so, but what do you veteran handloaders think?

For that matter, the Noslers could offer up a serialized custom die to go with the .280AI, and subsequent issues, epecially if they are custom chamberings. Silly idea?

The topic I'd like to bat around is the potential benefit of cutting a F/L sizing die to match the chamber of a custom rifle (in general, and specifically as it relates to the NCR). Am I wrong to think that such a die could be made to tighter tolerances so that handloads would be a better fit? Wouldn't it be true that such a die could be cut so that the handloader could simply screw the die down to touch the shellholder, and KNOW that virgin brass will be formed to match the custom chamber more closely than off-the-shelf dies?

The count is 0 and 1 -- he steps anxiously up to the plate for a second swing...

Comments?

Grady Ogburn
NCR05-200

I am not an expert on the subject. Now that said I would speculate that doing this would make those dies good only for prepping brass that will fit your rifle only. If your chambers were cut without any imperfections then i can not see any negative things about this idea.