FL sizing a 270 wsm

nshunter

Beginner
Aug 31, 2011
I am fairly new to loading for this caliber and seem to be having a few issues with re sizing my cases. I am using lee dies, winchester brass and a lee breach lock challenger press. As an example, if I size 10 cases, sometimes I will get one that won't chamber, it requires another run through the die before it will chamber. What could be causing this? You would think if the die was not adjusted properly none of the cases would be sized properly, not just one. The rifle is an x bolt, new this year.

Have you checked case length? They might be too long and hitting the end of the chamber. If that isn't it then you might measure the cases that don't fit at the base and shoulder and compare them to the ones that do. If the cases are too long sometimes they will bottom out in the die and flare the shoulders as well.

Yeah I thought that too at first, but when I measured them they were all within proper specs.

I have the same thing occasionally. Once fired WSM brass will not always expand all the way. So when setting my die you need to look for the longest shoulder to case head measurement and set your die off that case. IdahoCTD brings up the length, which could be the problem as well. My 7 and 270WSM both require realy measuring and making sure the die is being adjusted to properly size all of the cases. Scotty.

beretzs":ak6tojpj said:
I have the same thing occasionally. Once fired WSM brass will not always expand all the way. So when setting my die you need to look for the longest shoulder to case head measurement and set your die off that case. IdahoCTD brings up the length, which could be the problem as well. My 7 and 270WSM both require realy measuring and making sure the die is being adjusted to properly size all of the cases. Scotty.

That must be what is going on, I'll have to re check my dies and cases.How do you measure the shoulder to case head measurement, is there a tool or are you just using a caliper .