Seating Depth Question

lakesidefoxfarm

Beginner
May 5, 2007
I'm new to reloading and I just started prepping my first lot of .22-250 rounds. I purchased the Lee Anniversery Kit along with the Lee Deluxe Die Set. I will be using Varget powder with Nosler 40g and 55g bullets along with Winchester casings. I'm using fireformed cases that have been only neck sized. The gun I'm shooting is a Savage Model 12 BTVS .22-250. My question is how do I determine the proper bullet seating depth to use? Should I just use a factory round to determine this? I would also like to know the distance to the lands but don't know how to do this. Any other advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Gary :)

You can check any good load manual, as well as the powder manufacturer's various websites online, where they post nearly all of their data. Or you can use a factory round of the same basic bullet shape and type. Be aware that polymer tipped bullets are going to be longer than lead tipped bullets of the same weight, so COAL (Cartridge Over All Length, also known as COL) will be longer for these than lead tips, to give the same residual case volume under the bullet.

In all honesty, if you start handloading these, just start at the 'spec' seating depth, and then once you find your powder charge, seat out and in a bit to determine what the best depth is. Be careful with this, as you can create abnormally high pressures by seating excessively short, or deep, as case volume shrinks when you do this.