What is your favorite oddball round.

FOTIS

Range Officer
Staff member
Oct 30, 2004
Let's hear them.

If you do not have one what would you like?

Don't know if it truly qualifies, but I do enjoy my .356 Wins. I also like the 9.3X64 Brenneke. I still want to build an 8X68S.

Yup Shot them and a couple of 6.5x68 Schullers while stationed in Germany..

I would have to vote for the 35 Whelen. Although, it is pretty popular around here, still not many have heard of it, amongst the masses.

I think the Whelen is the cat's pajamas, but there are some other cartridges out there I have no experience with that I think are intriguing. The .348 Winchester, the .225 Winchester, and the .300 H&H are the first three that come to mind.

I consider the 300 SAUM somewhat of an oddball due to the limited time frame which rifles where chambered. My M700 BDL SS has become a favorite and has a bit of "cool" factor being a SAUM.

A true classic that might be considered an oddball to younger shooters is the 300 Savage. I absolutely love my grandpa's old '99. It was my first deer rifle and has taken several in its days.

As far as an oddball that I'd like to build, a Ruger No. 1 in 284 Winchester sounds interesting. The 6.5 and 350 Rem Mags are oddballs, versatile and should be more popular than they are/were.

I'd have fun with a 500 S&W lever gun too!

257 Roberts.
Whats not to like. :mrgreen:

JD338

I've thought that the 9X57 would be interesting. I guess, if I take the bent of this thread to this point, I'm attracted to a number of "oddball" rounds: 257 Roberts; 6.5 RM, 350 RM, 35 Whelen. I should have listed the 280 Ross, though I'm not moving very quickly on load development due to other demands on my time. :roll:

Always Partial to this one.

Why I do not know!

9.3 x 74R

hornady_9-3x74R.jpg

SJB358":3jer8jda said:
not many have heard of it.