25-06...22" barrel

SakoSteve270wsm

Handloader
Apr 17, 2007
Thinking about a Tikka in 25-06.They have a 22" barrel....I should still be able to get 3300 with a 100gr. BT ?Anyone ever own/load for a 22" 25-06?

7mm-08 and 6.5 Swede are in the running also,but leaning to the 25-06.

Never shot a 25-06, but I do like my 7mm-08. Its in a m-7 with the 18" barrel. Use it for goat hunting. Our goats are slow, but like small places on rocky mountains. So it works for me.

SakoSteve270wsm":av8ddtxt said:
Thinking about a Tikka in 25-06.They have a 22" barrel....I should still be able to get 3300 with a 100gr. BT ?Anyone ever own/load for a 22" 25-06?

All nice choices and they were all in the running when I chose my go to deer rifle. I studied all the ballistics pretty closely and ended up with a .260 remington mainly because of the bullet weights from 95 to 140. The 25-06 and the swede won't fit in the short action and the 7-08 most bullets start a little heavier due to the 7 mag popularity.

However of the three listed I would probably go for the 6.5 swede, I am sold on the 6.5 bullet performance, amazing.

I like to be contrary sometimes so I didn't buy the 25-06 just because quite a few people I know have one. Then what did I do, go out and buy a 30-06 sako for my next gun; everyone has atleast one 30-06 :lol:

One caliber I have always wanted was a 7X57 maybe just for nostalgia sake that and it doesn't shoot half bad either.

Most people in the know recommend a 24"-26" barrel to get the full powder burn and velocity potential with the 25-06. Same for the 270 and 30-06.

Barrel length is always an interesting choice. I've got a 24" .25-06 and it churns up 3340 fps with a 100 gr bullet at near max loads. Fun to shoot, little recoil, accurate and deadly.