7mm Rem mag powder choice

C.Smith

Handloader
Oct 11, 2006
Right now I am using IMR 7828 for my 160 grain loads in my 7mm RM. Mostly because i has some left over from my .270 days. I have only been loading the 7mm for a little less than a month.

I would like to know if 7828 is a good powder choice for accuracy and speed or is there a better more consistant powder out there that I have not tried? I see lot's of people using RL-22 on here but I have no experience with it.

I would love any insight or help you have to offer.

Thanks,

Corey

Jd 338,

Over the last two weeks developed an amazing load for my Browning Medallion in 7MM Re. Mag. Tried H4831SC, RL22, RL19, and H1000. All were very good.

Use appropriate caution when reloading and common sense. Don't believe everything that you read. Some people like to BS and that can get you hurt.

RL22 and H1000 were the best in my sessions. 30 degrees and no wind. Best load was 72.5 graims H1000, R-P once fired, trimmed, de-burred, flash hole trued, and full length re-sized.

Federal Magnum Match primers and NOSLER 160 grain AccuBond. Three shot group at 100 yards measured .156" The best group I ever shot.

Last Wednesday night my 19 year old son Thomas took his first elk ever with this round in his Browning BBR. Very nice 6X6 Bull at 85 yards. One shot kill. On Thursday evening I tagged a nice 6X6 Bull at 125 yards. Neckshot , one shot kill. Did not recover either roumd.

Another good load, .75" was 63.0 grains of RL22. Both load chronographed over 3000 FPS.

Take your time and let the barrel cool. Spread it over a couple of days.

Enjoy and good luck. It is a marvelous caliber.

Jerry Lowery
Bend, Oregon

JD 338,

My above post should have been addressed to Corey Smith. Sorry for the mistake.

Jerry

Jerry 919

Outstanding!
Congratulations on an exceptional load and the success both you and your son have shared elk hunting.

I have freezer space available if needed. :lol:

JD338