Vihtavouri powders

gerry

Ammo Smith
Mar 1, 2007
This is data from Berger for their 170 gr EOL in the 6.8 Western. Those of you that have experience with Vihtavouri powders in similar rounds which would you try first? I was thinking of N 560 or N 565, N 568 and N 570 look like they get more speed but get compressed. I wonder if the two slower ones would be a good match for the 6.8 W or better suited to something with more case capacity. I have never used this brand before but it looks good from their data. Thanks in advance.image-Mar-18-2024-02-36-55-6291-PM~2.png

I try to work in the 100% - 105% case fill range . I try not to work with a case fill much below 95% , or with a case fill much over 105% . from that list , I'd be choosing a powder with the case fill of 99% to 106% . I also chase velocity so my first choice would be N570 . I would not have a problem working with 106% case fill , it's not enough to give you any problems . use a drop tube funnel , and pour the powder slowly , you'll be surprised how the powder settles . I'll bet with a drop tube funnel , you will not even hear the powder crunch as the bullet is seated .

Checking on the link RL338 sent looks like N 560 and N 565 can be used in the 260 Rem as well. Sounds the the guys shooting the 156 gr in the 6.5 PRC are doing well with those two.