New Double Rifle

Africa Huntress

Handloader
Feb 14, 2012
Gentlemen,

I have been searching for over a year for a new double. I have pretty much narrowed my search down to Heym, Merkel, Krieghoff, and Holland and Holland. In order to keep the cost down on the H & H , it would not have any engraving on it or very very little.

I have also narrowed my search down to the 450-400 NE 3 "

Please let me know if you have had any bad experiences with any of these four gun manufacturers and whether or not you you would recommend a different caliber. ( please remember I am not as big and strong as you fellows when recommending caliber's ) This gun would be used only for Buffalo, Hippo, and Elephant--possibly Lion.

Thank you

Jamila

Wow! I've never even fired a double barreled rifle! Everything I hear & read about the 450-400 indicates it is a very good cartridge, including being fairly mild to shoot - but again - I've no personal experience with it.

Looking forward to learning more!

Regards, Guy

Guy Miner":vofg5aiq said:
Wow! I've never even fired a double barreled rifle! Everything I hear & read about the 450-400 indicates it is a very good cartridge, including being fairly mild to shoot - but again - I've no personal experience with it.

Looking forward to learning more!

Regards, Guy

Same here. I'm with Guy. Don't know anything other than what I've read about them.

Cool cartridge though.

My interest in doubles is mostly theoretical since they don't really match my hunting style. I've been fortunate to shoot a few.

I was the most partial to a Heym PH in .375 H&H. Rimless cartridges are supposedly a bad thing in a double, but the tight tolerances of the Heym would seem to make up for it. I had no issue busting a clay at 100yds resting over the hood of a truck. The PH was sans engraving and seemed pretty much a straight up working rifle...that's probably what I liked about it. If I were to ever buy one, I'd get the .375H&H with a set of spare 20ga barrels.