The great 480 Ruger

G

Anyone have one for hunting? I've been slobbering over one for two years now and figured I'd better get one. Who chambers handguns in this caliber?

hopwoodt":7uzyvjhd said:
Anyone have one for hunting? I've been slobbering over one for two years now and figured I'd better get one. Who chambers handguns in this caliber?
..............You`d better get one fast via your dealer or the on-line auctions.....On the Ruger web site it shows "discontinued" for the 480 Ruger cartridge chambered in the SRH`s. Not selling as well? Call Ruger and ask them why their 480 is being discontinued in the SRH.............454 Casull SRHs are still available and you can also shoot the 45 LC too; hot loaded way up or loaded down for added versatility depending on your needs.......

I forgot to add!.........You want a single action? The BFR`s from "Magnum Research" chamber the 480 Ruger...."I think that Freedom Arms" may too. Not sure!

In double actions? Ruger is the only one that I know of chambered in the 480. Probably some leftovers available at the dealers or at the auctions.

I have a T/C Encore 12" in .480ruger. I really like this round with this handgun.

480Ruger1.jpg

I have not shot a deer yet but am hopefull it will knock one down this fall.

Almost got one... but having a redhawk in 44 mag I jumped to the 500 SW mag :idea: