Who has handled the Leica Rangefinder?( I ordered one today)

ScreaminEagle

Handloader
Jan 20, 2011
I need a new rangefinder, and have really been considering the Leica CRF 1000. I don't need to range anything past 600 or 700 yards. They look like a pretty good unit. There is no way I can afford a Swaro, so don't even suggest it. So, has anybody played with one yet?

SE, I think Brian has one and loves it. I don't think there is any difference from the Leica's to the Swaro's other than price.. I am sure Brian will weigh in when he sees this, but from everything he says, he likes them alot.

I've heard nothing but good about the Leica from everyone I've known who's owned one. Now, I don't own one, and short of ranging some trees and stuff through a store window in Birmingham, AL, I have no experience with them. I can tell you that, should you ever be hunting in an urban area, through a storefront window with a lot of lettering and decals, and you need to know if that treeline on the ridge across the way is 600yds or 800yds, you can sure find out without hesitation. You can also range office buildings through that same window, at 1122yds. By the way, the treeline was 638yds. I won the bet. The guy I was with said it was "at least 800, maybe 1k. I said closer to 600yds. Just lucky, really. But the Leica is on my wishlist before I head west for hunting. If you're looking for a great deal, cameralandny.com had the 1600 on sale for $650 recently. Wish I had that kind of spare cash laying around right now.

I have a Geovid, and it is excellent in every respect. The CRF range finders I've handled were just as good. Scotty is correct that the Swarovski is top flight as well. Having said that, if you have the Leica, you would have little reason to look for another in this lifetime.

Thanks guys. I almost bought the new redfield, but I would rather only have to buy one rangefinder for a long time.

ScreaminEagle":3ci1opwc said: